History of the St Kitts and Nevis Olympic Committee (SKNOC) Inc

  • The SKNOC is a not-for-profit, non-governmental sporting organization governed by a nine member executive whose current President is Mr. Alphonso Bridgewater and Secretary General is Mr. Glenville Jeffers. The remaining current Executive Members are made up of the follow positions: Vice President; Assistant Secretary General; Treasurer and four (4) Members.
  • The St. Kitts and Nevis Olympic Association was established by constitution on 27th May 1986.
  • At the 101st Session of the IOC in Monte Carlo, Monaco on Friday 24th September 1993, the St. Kitts and Nevis National Olympic Committee was officially recognized by the IOC. In 2013 the SKNOC celebrated its 20th anniversary of affiliation to the IOC.
  • The constitution was revised at an Extraordinary Meeting of the SKNOC on 10th June, 2004 and ratified at the Annual General Meeting on 30th November 2006. The constitution was subsequently approved by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) on 1st June, 2007.
  • Prior to December 1998, there were two (2) organisations that governed multi-sports in St Kitts and Nevis: the National Olympic Committee (NOC) and the Commonwealth Games Association (CGA). Since both organisations shared the same member federations, the SKNOC and the CGA amalgamated in September 1999 and thus made the SKNOC the responsible organisation for all Olympic-related matters and all Commonwealth Games related matters in the Federation of St Kitts and Nevis.
  • From 1994 to 2005, the SKNOC Secretariat was located in a rented office space in the Charles Wilkin Building on Church Street. The SKNOC then moved its Secretariat in February 2004, to the Olympic House located at No.18 Taylors Range, Basseterre, St Kitts.
  • Another critical milestone of the SKNOC came on Thursday 5th March, 2008, when the Executive Members and staff of the SKNOC witnessed the formal ceremonial signing of Legislation to Incorporate the SKNOC at a Parliament sitting on that day.
  • The following organizations are affiliates:
  1. St Kitts and Nevis Amateur Athletic Association (SKNAAA)
  2. St Kitts – Nevis Amateur Basketball Association (SKNABA)
  3. St Kitts and Nevis Amateur Boxing Association (SKNABA)
  4. St Kitts – Nevis Football Association (SKNFA)
  5. St Kitts and Nevis Table Tennis Association (SKNTTA)
  6. St Christopher and Nevis Taekwondo Federation (SCNTF)
  7. St Kitts Amateur Volleyball Association (SKAVA)
  8. St Kitts Netball Association (SKNA)